Session timeout

Sorry, your session timed out after a long time of inactivity. Please click OK and Sign In again.


Jesus Serrano Landeros


He is a Mechanical & Electrical Engineer by the National Autonomous University of Mexico; Master in Business and Administration from the Center for Advanced Studies in Management; Master in Economics from The College of Mexico and the Master in International and Development Economics from Yale University. He studied a PhD in Economics from Boston University. Jesus was appointed by the Senate as a Commissioner for the Energy Regulatory Commission on September 18th, 2014, for a period ending in December 2018. In his career he worked as Resident and Project Engineer at Luz y Fuerza del Centro, from 1988 to 1992; Assistant Director of Financial Institutions Supervision in the National Banking and Securities Commission from 2001 to 2002; Director of Economic Policy, from 2002 to 2006, and Deputy General Director of Public Policy Analysis, from 2007 to 2010, in the Economic Planning Unit of the Ministry of Finance; General Director of Heavy and High Technology Industries in the Ministry of Economy, from 2010 to 2013; Manager of Analysis of Public Finance at the Bank of Mexico, from 2013 to March 2014. Prior to his appointment as Commissioner, he worked as General Director of Generation, Transmission and Transformation of Electric Power in the Ministry of Energy. In academia, he has taught subjects like Mechanics of Materials, Mechanics and Economic Assessment Techniques in the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), ENEP Aragon; Advanced Mathematics for Economics at UNAM and Introductory Macroeconomic Analysis and Banking and Financial Institutions at Boston University. In addition, the Commissioner Serrano has taught in different subjects of Macro and Microeconomics, and Industrial Organization at El Colegio de Mexico and The Monterrey Institute of Technology. Currently is member of the board of the OECD’s Network of Energy Regulator and president of the National Consultative Committee of Standardization of Hydrocarbons, Oil Refined Products and Petrochemicals.

Back to speakers